Workshops

What’s Up with White Women?
Strategies for Unpacking Sexism and White Privilege

Thursday, October 14th, 2021
9:00am - 11:00am PST / 12:00pm - 2:00pm EST

This workshop will examine three patterns of behavior: perfectionism, control, and defensiveness, within the context of sexism and white privilege. We’ll provide alternative strategies, based in self-awareness, to better work in multicultural partnerships.

Thursday, October 28th - 29th, 2021
9:00am - 12:30pm PST / 12:00pm - 3:30pm EST

In this 2-day workshop use a developmental model to examine how our identities change as we grow in our understanding of personal and institutional oppression. Given the virtual platform, we will still use highly interactive methods including reflective writing, video clips, small group conversations, and storytelling to take a deeper look into our learned patterns of behavior.

Tuesdays, November 9th, 12th, 16th, 30th &
December 7th , 2021

12:00pm - 1:30pm PST / 3:00pm - 4:30pm EST

Authors Ilsa Govan and Tilman Smith are excited to offer a five-week series exploring how ideas in our book apply beyond the pages. Our hope is that participants will leave with a deeper understanding of the intersection of sexism and white privilege in their experiences and new ideas for living into anti-racist values.

Each session will stand alone and be accompanied by recommended pre-reading. Participants who commit to growing our community by attending all five sessions will receive a discount and be paired with another participant, an accountabilibuddy, for added connection and reflection.